Product detail

Dork Day (D'Evil Diaries #1)

Dork Day (D'Evil Diaries #1)

Author: Tatum Flynn
Series: The D'Evil Diaries
$15.00 (NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 8
Description

Jinx D'Evil is Lucifer's youngest son, so he ought to be a terrifying demon...but he's rubbish at flying and not much good at scaring people. He's so innately good that he even turns the likes of Al Capone and Dracula away from a life of crime, instead of learning from their wickedness. It's not Jinx's fault, but Lucifer has had enough - and you don't want to get on the wrong side of a furious, eight foot tall, fiery Prince of Darkness. Faced with being packed off to the demon military academy, Jinx runs away - but when he gets to know a human girl, Tommy, who's ended up in Hell after accidentally killing her horrible uncle, Jinx realises there's serious trouble brewing in the underworld. Now Hell's hopes of survival rest on its most feeble demon - and a human girl who shouldn't have gone to Hell at all...Perfect for fans of David Walliams, this brilliantly funny adventure introduces a great new voice in children's fiction.

Promotion info

Welcome to Hell...you're going to love it here!

Awards
Shortlisted for Hillingdon Book of the Year Awards: Secondary 2016.
Reviews

An unusual, very funny story with plenty of laugh aloud moments mixed with some nail biting ones and plot twists that keep you gripped to the end Primary Times The D'Evil Diaries is comedy adventure at its best Bookzone 4 Boys Brilliantly funny and clever -- The Bookseller An unusual, very funny story with plenty of laugh aloud moments mixed with some nail biting ones, and plot twiata that keep you gripped to the end Primary Times Enormously fun, in the vein of Rick Riordan -- Stephanie Burgis, author of Kat, Incorrigible Once in a while a children's book comes along that is so inventive, and witty, and different, that you want to hug it. -- Minerva Reads I'm not sure what I am most envious of - Tatum Flynn's incredible imagination or her hilarious sense of humour. The world building was astounding. A really great debut novel -- Serendipity Reviews Pitched somewhere between Douglas Adams and Terry Gilliam - irreverent, funny and touching. -- Allan Boroughs, author of Ironheart Utterly original, darkly funny - really loved it! -- Nigel McDowell, author of The Black North Ridiculously imaginative, with a sense of humour sharper than one of Dracula's fangs! A snortingly funny debut -- writing.ie All the characters are hilarious and refreshingly unique... wrapped up in humour so sharp it could give you a paper cut. -- Nikki Sheehan, author of Who Framed Klaris Cliff An incredibly imaginative world full of spikemoths, wererhinos, spooky forests and haunted amusement parks, to the point where I got ridiculously excited at any hint of going to a new place because I couldn't wait to see who or what lived there -- NK Traver, author of Duplicity Tatum Flynn could very well be a new name to watch in children's literature, and no doubt The D'Evil Diaries will find a beloved home with 10+ readers. I'm looking forward to more from Jinx and Tommy in the future! -- Wondrous Reads A hilarious, crackling, original debut about an unlucky demon, perfect for fans of Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer -- Luna's Little Library

Author description

Tatum Flynn has worked as an English teacher in Italy, a croupier on a Caribbean cruise ship and a travel writer all over the world. Now she lives by the seaside with a cat called Friday. She was commended in the Greenhouse Funny Prize and this is her first book.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408335765
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Orchard Books
  • : March 2015
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 272
  • : Paperback
  • : Tatum Flynn